h1

[Web Wrap]: The Half-Armenian Identity: But Your Name Is…

January 11, 2011

What defines the Armenian identity?

By Robert Fullam via ianyan MAG

I have encountered the phrase “but your name is,” countless times when I meet new Armenians and non-Armenians alike. Explaining to non-Armenians that my mom is the Armenian has never been too hard but it is the conversations with Armenians that always tend to get me. Most if not all half-Armenians with an Armenian mother have encountered this. You go to a church picnic or recognize an Armenian name in school, etc and introduce yourself. Everything is going fine and then you tell them your name. They get this look on their face, of slight confusion, like they’re trying to reconcile your claim to your identity with your obviously non-Armenian surname. Repeated experiences of this situation had slowly made me feel slightly ashamed when I told Armenians my name, every time I told somebody, it felt as if all the eyes in the room were looking at me, judging me, judging if I were authentically Armenian.

Please continue reading here.

St. Hripsime Church in Echmiadzin
completed in 618, is one of the
Oldest surviving churches in Armenia.

St. Hripsime

Credit: Rita Willaert/Creative Commons/via ianyan Mag

Leave a Reply

