h1

[Web Wrap]: The Art of Calligraphy: Script in its Purest Forms.

January 9, 2011

Calligraphy as discipline was a rare find in the rich legacy of Armenian culture.
– Ruben Malayan

By Ruben Malayan via Asbarez.com

Two years ago I had a request from the Editor of upcoming “Encyclopedia of World Calligraphy” to contribute to the edition by drawing samples of Armenian script. When I asked what exactly would this request imply I was told that they needed all four major scripts executed with sequence of strokes ( i.e. the direction of writing). For over three month I have spent nights drawing letters, digging out anything I could find on my bookshelf, only to discover that calligraphy as discipline was a rare find in the rich legacy of Armenian culture. How come, I said to myself, how could it be that we have so little written about it? We have studies of paleography (science of writing) but practically nothing on calligraphy (art of writing).

Please continue reading here.

Armenian Erkatagir Alphabet

Credit: Ruben Malayan via Asbarez.com

Leave a Reply

