h1

[ACYOA Dispatches]: Closing – Reminiscing a Life Changing Trip to Armenia.

September 30, 2010

By Paul Derderian

I came to Armenia expecting to see all of the famous sites I had heard about in Armenian School and Sunday School. I expected to get more advanced culturally and spiritually. When I arrived in Armenia, it felt like I had dreamt it all up in my head. It had been everything I had expected and more. The feeling of being in Armenia and the sight of Armenian lettering on the signs along with hearing the language everywhere was very fulfilling to me. It could not have been more of a fantasy becoming a reality. I left Armenia knowing more about my history, faith, language and everything else which makes up my culture.

There were many memorable parts of the trip: visiting churches, monasteries, the beautiful landscapes, the food, etc. Climbing the mountain in Lake Sevan was a great experience for me. It was one of the most physically demanding things I ever did in my life.

Sevan by Arman Ayrapetyan

Credit: Arman Ayrapetyan

As we reached the top of the mountain, the feeling of satisfaction and beauty overwhelmed me. The views on top of the mountain overlooking Lake Sevan and the rest of the mountain range were indescribable.

Sevan by Arman Ayrapetyan  1

Credit: Arman Ayrapetyan

Going to Armenia was one of the best experiences of my life and it has changed my life in so many ways.

Leave a Reply

