h1

[Web Wrap]: Home and Homeland – The Journey to Armenia.

August 16, 2010

By Avo John Kambourian via ianyan Mag.

What makes someone leave home, walk away from his or her life, friends, family, work, school and become a traveler? Seven months ago, fresh out of quitting art school and returning to community college, I saw my future ahead of me: dark, bleak and distant. This future entailed a transfer to a decent university and becoming what I believed to be a normal person. Since I only needed one semester, endless months lay ahead of me, with nothing to do except work and be bored of the same thing; I knew I would never have to opportunity to take a chance as I did then.

I chose to go to Armenia for four months, not just for fun, but to finally see and taste the motherland from her roots. I remember one of the big things going on before I left was the Armenia-Turkey Protocol situation. I personally don’t side with anything unless I know its true purpose, so I decided that I would keep my eyes open while I was in Armenia.

Please continue reading here.

The author on his journey in Armenia

26830_1368506887192_1067280004_1072405_2440533_n.jpg

Copyright: Avo John Kambourian

Leave a Reply

